29 March 2018
Media Release - #2018034, 2018

In the role of: Minister for Revenue and Financial Services [19 July 2016 - 28 August 2018]

Appointments to the Takeovers Panel

I am pleased to announce the appointments of part-time members to the Takeovers Panel (the Panel).

The Takeovers Panel provides a mechanism for peer review of takeovers activity, with the aim of being more efficient, less formal and more expeditious than the courts. The functions and powers of the Panel are conferred by the Corporations Act 2001 and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001.

The members appointed to the Panel are:

  • Mr Alex Cartel
  • Ms Stephanie Charles
  • Ms Teresa Dyson
  • Ms Tracey Horton
  • Mr Richard Hunt
  • Mr Bill Koeck
  • Mr Jeremy Leibler
  • Mr Ron Malek
  • Mr Rory Moriarty
  • Mr Tony Osmond
  • Mr John O'Sullivan
  • Ms Karen Phin
  • Ms Sarah Rennie
  • Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans
  • Ms Sharon Warburton

All members have been appointed for a three-year period from 30 April 2018.

These appointments will maintain the high level of skills and experience available to the Panel, ensuring that it has appropriately qualified members to deal with the range of complex issues which are raised in applications.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing members, Ms Elizabeth Bryan AM, Mr Peter Hay and Ms Sophie Mitchell for their valuable contribution to the Panel over the past years.

The Panel now has 43 members (including the President), all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis.