15 June 2018
Media Release - #2018068, 2018

In the role of: Minister for Revenue and Financial Services [19 July 2016 - 28 August 2018]

John Conde AO reappointed President of the Remuneration Tribunal

I am pleased to announce that Mr John Conde AO has been reappointed as President of the Remuneration Tribunal for a further five-year period, commencing from 25 June 2018.

The Remuneration Tribunal is responsible for reporting on or determining the remuneration, including allowances and work expenses, of members of the Federal Parliament, the additional salary for Ministers and Parliamentary office holders and the remuneration of judges of federal courts, departmental secretaries, most full-time and part-time holders of public offices and Principal Executive Offices.

Mr Conde has been a member of the Tribunal since 1998 and the President since 2003. He is currently Deputy Chairman of Whitehaven Coal Ltd and holds a number of other positions including Chairman of Cooper Energy, Chairman of the McGrath Foundation and is a Director with the Dexus Property Group.

His previous positions include Chairman of BUPA Australia, Chairman of Ausgrid (formerly Energy Australia), Chairman and Managing Director of Broadcast Investment Holdings Pty Ltd, Chairman of the Electricity Commission of New South Wales and Director of BHP Billiton Limited. Mr Conde was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in 1994 in recognition of service to business and commerce, particularly in the field of electricity generation and supply to the community.