22 August 2017
Media Release - #2017082, 2017

In the role of: Minister for Revenue and Financial Services [19 July 2016 - 28 August 2018]

AFCA transition team reference panel established

The Turnbull Government welcomes the establishment of an expert reference panel to the assist the transition team to the one-stop-shop dispute resolution scheme, the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA). 

The transition team, led by former Assistant Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia Dr Malcolm Edey, was established by the Government to ensure a smooth transition to AFCA. This panel will provide expert knowledge and experience to assist the transition team.

Members of the expert reference panel are:

  • Shane Tregillis, Chief Ombudsman, Financial Ombudsman Service;
  • Helen Davis, Chair, Superannuation Complaints Tribunal;
  • Robin Buckham, Director at Self Employed Australia (to represent small business); and
  • John Berrill, Consumer Member, Superannuation Complaints Tribunal Advisory Council (to represent consumers).

Invitations to serve on the panel were issued to all three existing external dispute resolution bodies, as well as a consumer and small business representative.

In recognition that the AFCA will be an industry body, the Government has asked the transition team to consult extensively with stakeholders on issues around AFCA’s establishment.

“It is important that the AFCA transition team draw on existing dispute resolution expertise and a wide range of views, to make sure the AFCA is fit for purpose and meets the needs of consumers, small business and industry,” the Minister for Revenue and Financial Services, the Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP, said.

Dr Edey will hold his first meeting with the reference panel in the coming weeks, following initial meetings he has held with stakeholders.