20 December 2017
Media Release - #2017121, 2017

In the role of: Minister for Revenue and Financial Services [19 July 2016 - 28 August 2018]

Appointments to the Board of Taxation

The Minister for Revenue and Financial Services, the Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP, today announced the reappointments of Mr Michael Andrew AO as the part-time Chair of the Board of Taxation for a further two years and Dr Mark Pizzacalla and Mr Craig Yaxley as part-time members of the Board each for a further three-year period all from 1 January 2018.

Ms Rosheen Garnon has also been appointed as a new part-time member of the Board for a three-year period from 1 January 2018.

The Board is a non-statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective to improving  taxation laws and development of the tax system.

Mr Andrew has extensive commercial experience and a deep understanding of tax law. He was Chair and CEO of KPMG International from May 2011 to July 2014 and Chair of KPMG Australia from 2007 to 2011. Mr Andrew is a former member of the Business Council of Australia and the International Business Council of the World Economic Forum. Mr Andrew chaired the Turnbull Government’s Black Economy Taskforce.

Dr Pizzacalla is Partner-in-Charge of the Private Clients practice of BDO in Melbourne. He has extensive experience in small business tax issues, and has completed his PhD in relation to the taxation of Small and Medium Enterprises in Australia. Dr Pizzacalla is a member of The Tax Institute’s Victorian Technical Committee, the former Chair of The Tax Institute’s national SME sub-committee and a former Victorian State Councillor.

Mr Yaxley has over 30 years’ corporate tax experience including 20 years as a tax partner with KPMG in Perth and was appointed the WA State Lead Tax Partner in 2013.  Mr Yaxley has been extensively involved in mining industry tax issues and policy developments in his previous role as Chair of the Tax Committee for the Association of Mining and Exploration Companies Inc.

Ms Garnon has over 25 years’ experience in professional services having been a senior partner with KPMG Australia for 16 years. Ms Garnon specialised in advising global organisations and their senior executives on remuneration arrangements. Ms Garnon has held several senior positions within KPMG including Global Partner-in-Charge, International Executive Services from 2006 to 2009, National Managing Partner for KPMG Australia’s Taxation Division, as well being a member of KPMG’s Global Tax Steering Group from 2009 to 2015.

The Government thanks the outgoing member, Mrs Peggy Lau Flux, for the valuable contribution she has made to the Board during her tenure as a member. Her experience and knowledge has been of considerable benefit to the Board.

Members of the Board of Taxation as of 1 January 2018

Mr Michael Andrew AO Chair
Ms Karen Payne CEO
Dr Julianne Jaques Member
Mr Neville Mitchell Member
Dr Mark Pizzacalla Member
Mrs Ann-Maree Wolff Member
Ms Rosheen Garnon Member 
Mr Craig Yaxley Member
Mr John Fraser Ex-officio member
Mr Chris Jordan AO Ex-officio member
Mr Peter Quiggin PSM Ex-officio member